Domaine Serge Laloue
Sancerre  . Chavignol

The estate

Domaine Serge Laloue is operated by the brother and sister team of Franck and Christine who continue to perpetuate the work originally undertaken by their father, Serge, in the 1960s. The estate consists of 21 hectares of vines, essentially located in the commune of Thauvenay, 5 kilometres from the town of Sancerre. 16 hectares are planted with Sauvignon Blanc which produce our white Sancerre. The remaining 5 hectares are planted with Pinot Noir grapes that go into the production of our rosé and red Sancerres. Thauvenay boasts three distinctive terroirs:

Caillottes are particularly stony and limestone-based. Located at mid-slope, this type of terroir favours early ripening of the grapes.

The wines made with grapes grown on these terroirs express floral notes along with black fruit (especially blackcurrant). These soft wines are enjoyable even in their youth.

Siliceous clay terroirs are located at the top of the slopes. They lend the wine mineral notes reminiscent of gunflint. Though these wines tend to be rather closed at first, over time their spicy aromas and flavours will shine through.

The iron-rich sandy clay soils contain very few stones. They are located at the bottom of the slopes. This type of terroir produces wines with great aromatic finesse that develop floral and fruity notes.

Domaine Serge Laloue also owns 0.2 hectare of vines in Sancerre, where the soil is flint-based and overlies clay subsoil. The name of the cuvée, 1166, refers to the number of vines planted in the vineyard.

Finally, in December 2008, Franck and Christine became tenant farmers in the Cul de Beaujeu vineyard, located in the commune of Chavignol.

Here, 1 hectare of Sauvignon Blanc vines thrive in Kimmeridgian terres blanches (white earth). Working in this vineyard poses a real challenge, because the vines grow on a 45° slope. However, this is a magnificent terroir which yields wines with remarkable aromatic purity.

The estate consists of :

  • a press-house, a former barn dating back to the beginning of the last century that has been completely renovated. Today this building serves as a winery for our whites and reds whereas in the past it was used to dry tobacco leaves.
  • A bottling and labelling room that was enlarged in 2006 to create more room for winemaking tasks.
  • Offices and an ageing cellar where our red wines are aged.

Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Consume in moderation.
Version française | Réalisation Direct@Web

Domaine Serge Laloue
Sancerre  . Chavignol

Domaine

Le Domaine Serge Laloue, c'est un frère, Franck et sa soeur Christine, qui perpétuent le travail entrepris par leur père, Serge, dans les années 60. C'est un vignoble de 21 hectares, localisé essentiellement sur la commune de Thauvenay, à 5 kilomètres de Sancerre. 16 sont plantés en sauvignon. Ils donnent naissance au Sancerre blanc. Les 5 hectares restants sont plantés en pinot noir, et destinés au Sancerre rosé et au Sancerre rouge. A Thauvenay, trois terrois se distinguent :

Les "Caillottes" particulièrement pierreuses et calcaires. Situées à mi-coteaux, elles favorisent une maturation plus rapide des raisins.

Les cuvées issues de ces terroirs développent des notes florales et de fruits noirs (le cassis notamment). Souples, ils acceptent volontiers de se laisser boire jeune.

Les terres argilo-siliceuses sont localisées en haut des coteaux. Elles confèrent au vin des notes minérales, style "pierre à fusil". Durs dans leur prime jeunesse, il est préférable de les attendre un peu pour les laisser nous dévoiler leurs arômes épicés.

Les terres argilo-sableuses, qui marient argile et sable, sont riches en fer. Elles se localisent sur la partie basse des coteaux. Elles sont peu caillouteuses. Ces terres produisent des vins qui jouissent d’une grande finesse aromatique, et développent des notes florales et fruitées.

Le Domaine Serge Laloue possède également 20 ares à Sancerre, sur un sol de silex sur sous-sol d’argile. La cuvée porte le nom du nombre de pieds que compte la parcelle : 1166.

Et, depuis décembre 2008, Franck et Christine ont repris en métayage la parcelle du Cul de Beaujeu, située sur la commune de Chavignol.

1 hectare de sauvignon sur les terres blanches du Kimméridgien. Un véritable challenge, puisqu‘il faut travailler les vignes sur une pente qui affiche 45%. Il s’agit aussi d’un terroir magnifique, qui donne naissance à des vins d’une pureté aromatique remarquable.

L'exploitation compte :

  • un vendangeoir, une ancienne grange du début du siècle dernier entièrement rénovée. Aujourd'hui, chai de vinification des blancs et des rouges. Son grenier servait autrefois à faire sécher les feuilles de tabac.
  • une cave agrandie en 2006. Dédiée à l'embouteillage et à l'étiquetage, le domaine a gagné en espace au chai.
  • des bureaux et une cave, qui entreposent les rouges en élevage.

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. À consommer avec modération.
Mentions légales | English version | Réalisation Direct@Web