Domaine Serge Laloue
Sancerre  . Chavignol

The Laloue philosophy

Serge Laloue appropriated the notion of terroir very early on. In 1984, our cuvée Silex was created. Its two and a half hectares of Sauvignon Blanc vines planted in siliceous clay soil represented the beginning of our decision to vinify the grapes from our different vineyards separately. In 1990, 0.2 hectare of a magnificent flint terroir overlying limestone was acquired. 1,166 Sauvignon Blanc vines were planted here by Franck, who had recently arrived. Twelve years later, they yielded the grapes for our cuvée 1166 which is aged for 11 months in 600-litre barrels. These grapes are handpicked.

Great changes came in the 1990s. Franck started monitoring the vines and their cycle very closely. When it came time to harvest, he was not satisfied with technical tests alone; he went through the vineyards, tasting the grapes. His vines received and continue to receive the utmost care and this is shows through in our wines. Partial disbudding is performed along with green harvest when required. In an environmentally friendly approach, we work the soil in the vineyards in order to respect its natural balance as much as possible. The soil between the rows of vines is hoed, special equipment is used (grape hoe), appropriate soil improvement techniques are introduced, and over 50% of the surface area of the vineyards is protected against pests through the use of mating disruption techniques.
After the harvest, the Sauvignon Blanc grapes and the Pinot Noir grapes destined for the production of our rosés are taken to the winery in special grape carts which keep the berries separate from the juice. Once the grapes have been partially sorted on a belt, they are transferred to a pneumatic press. After the juice has settled, it undergoes fermentation in temperature-controlled stainless steel tanks for approximately 3 weeks (at temperatures between 16° and 20°C). Once fermentation is complete, the wine is left to age on the lees for several months.
The wines are fined and filtered before being bottled the following spring.

The Pinot Noir grapes for our red Sancerre arrive at the winery where they are sorted by hand. They are destemmed and transferred to closed tanks by means of a belt. They are left to macerate for 15 to 25 days.
During this time, we periodically perform pumping over of the must and punching of the cap. The wines are then racked and transferred into tanks or barrels where they are aged for 10 months. The proportion of tanks and barrels varies according to each vintage. At the end of the 10 months the wines are blended, fined and bottled without being filtered.

Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Consume in moderation.
Version française | Réalisation Direct@Web

Domaine Serge Laloue
Sancerre  . Chavignol

Esprit Laloue

Très tôt, Serge Laloue s'approprie la notion de terroirs. En 1984, la cuvée Silex voit le jour. Ces deux hectares et demi de sauvignon sur un terroir argilo-siliceux incarnent l'avènement du parcellaire au domaine. En 1990, il acquiert 20 ares sur un magnifique terroir de silex sur calcaire. 1166 pieds de sauvignon y seront plantés par Franck, récemment arrivé. Ils donneront naissance 12 années plus tard à la cuvéee 1166. Des vendanges manuelles pour un vin qui sera élevé 11 mois en tonnes de 600 litres.

Les années 1990 symbolisent de profonds changements. Franck est à l'écoute de la vigne, de son cycle. A l'approche des vendanges, il ne se contente plus des tests techniques, il arpente régulièrement les parcelles afin de goûter les raisins. Sa vigne bénéficie désormais des plus grands soins et cela se note. On pratique l'ébourgeonnage raisonné et des vendanges en vert lorsque le millésime le demande. Inscrit au coeur d'une démarche respectueuse de l'environnement, le Domaine Serge Laloue travaille le sol afin de respecter au mieux son équilibre naturel : on bine les rangs, introduit des interceps, étudie des amendements appropriés, et pratique la confusion sexuelle sur plus de 50% de la superficie.
Après avoir été vendangés, les sauvignons et les pinots destinés aux rosés sont transportés dans des remorques avec séparation des graines et du jus. Triés partiellement sur un tapis, ils sont acheminés vers un pressoir pneumatique.
Après débourbage, le jus fermente dans des cuves en inox thermo-régulées pendant environ 3 semaines (à une température comprise entre 16 et 20°). Une fois la fermentation achevée, le vin est mis sur lies pendant plusieurs mois.
Les vins seront collés, passés au froid et filtrés pour être mis en bouteille au printemps suivant.

Les pinots noirs destinés au Sancerre rouge arrivent à la cave pour être triés manuellement. Les raisins sont éraflés, et déposés dans des cuves fermées, grâce à un tapis. Ils vont effectuer une macération pendant 15 à 25 jours.
Pendant cette période, nous procédons à des remontages et des pigeages périodiques. Les vins sont ensuite décuvés et mis à nouveau en cuve ou en fûts pour un élevage de 10 mois, selon une proportion qui fluctue selon les millésimes. Au terme de ces 10 mois, les vins seront assemblés, collés et mis en bouteille sans filtration.

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé. À consommer avec modération.
Mentions légales | English version | Réalisation Direct@Web